Our First Letter to Susan Solomon, President of UESF

Decreasing the Distance believes in working with anyone who supports the wellbeing of children. This letter was the first of a series we sent to Susan Solomon, president of United Educators for San Francisco, requesting a meeting.

December 3, 2020

Dear Susan Solomon,

I am reaching out to you to request a meeting on behalf of the executive committee of Decreasing the Distance (DtD), which is a parent collective supporting equitable solutions for SFUSD families.

Your role representing UESF is so vital to this complex puzzle that is the safe reopening of schools and we at DtD are fully aware that the educators are the heart and soul of the schools. We need to make sure educators feel safe and that their health is prioritized. As a volunteer-led collective, DtD feels our responsibility is to hold space for the various families slightly similar to the way you are holding space for all the educators. DtD also was invited to speak at a statewide press conference in support of teachers being included in the first priority round for vaccines. With this said, we feel it is of utmost importance to meet with you so DtD may increase alignment with educators as we advocate for SFUSD families. DtD would love to schedule a meeting with you this month and we can be flexible to your schedule. We hope to hear from you soon.

In Community,
Cliff Yee, Meredith Dodson, Yvette Edwards, Kate Levitt, Laura Padilla
Decreasing the Distance Executive Team

As of December 2020, DtD includes members from AAPAC, ELAC, Beacons, and parents whose children attend the
following SFUSD schools. As our numbers grow, parents from other schools continue to join.

Balboa HS, Independence HS, June Jordan HS, Denman MS, Francisco MS, Everett MS, Hoover MS, Presidio MS,
Roosevelt MS, Willie Brown MS, Alice Fong Yu K-8, Creative Arts Charter K-8, New School, Alamo ES, Alvarado ES,
Argonne ES, Cesar Chavez ES, Chinese Immersion School ES, Clarendon ES, Claire Lillenthal ES, Commodore Sloat ES, Daniel Webster ES, Dolores Huerta ES, Diane Feinstein ES, El Dorado ES, Flynn ES, Glen Park ES, Grattan ES, Harvey Milk ES, Jefferson ES, Lakeshore Alternative ES, Marshall ES, McCoppin ES, McKinley ES, Miraloma ES, Monroe ES, Moscone ES, New Traditions ES, Paul Revere ES, Peabody ES, Presidio EES, Rooftop ES, Rosa Parks ES, Sanchez ES, Sherman ES, SF Public Montessori, Starr King ES, Sunnyside ES, Sunset ES,
Sutro ES, West Portal ES, Yick Wo ES